“Fake it til you make it” Party of None, Some, or Many?

14 10 2009

In my morning blog roundup I came across a very interesting post from Corbett Barr over at FreePursuits.com.  In the article he was discussing how the “fake it til you make it” mentality has gone somewhat awry in the arena online business and marketing.  I’m sure we can think of a people who brand themselves as “experts”, “visionaries”, etc in the contact of social media and marketing.  Admittedly I have been guilty of this as well with my own tag line as “social media visionary.”  However, the way Corbett puts it: it’s how you apply this  mentality that will eventually lead to your success or downfall.

influx_design_factory_fake_it_till_you_make_it_skateboard-p186311707371494304qia4_400

I’ll use myself as an example.  When the concept of IRM was being formed I immediately jumped on the wagon and branded myself a “visionary.”  That’s a pretty strong branding title considering I was brand new to twitter, but not so new to other social media platforms.  When speaking to clients I made sure to explain my own journey in understanding how social media helped (and continues) to build my own brand through various endeavors.  I brought the confidence I had to the table assuring that with my help someone could realize their own personal success with the help of various online platforms.  After reading and re-reading Corbett’s post it gave me a little nudge that sometimes happen when you become complacent in your current settings.  The F.I.T.Y.M.I mentality is only helpful if you are constantly staying ahead of the curve absorbing information that can help you achieve another piece of the puzzle or otherwise you are in for a rude awakening.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 10 2009
tweetiesblog

What an honest post Carlos! I like the thinking and concept. Like yourself, I went on Twitter several months ago and am learning a great deal from marketing experts and practioners whom I could never imagine myself learning from. Twitter and Facebook are definitely the best-ever inventions that I’ve ever encountered in life, enabling me to be a life-time student in a hard-hitting working world.
@AdaMarcom

28 10 2009
Des Walsh

Well, the fact is you *are* a visionary, Carlos, and way ahead of so many people in business, from very small to enterprise, in seeing how social media can change businesses and change lives. And like you, I’ve found that if you are confident, as I know you are, and you have shared valuable information and insights with people, as I know you do, they won’t take it amiss when you tell them you too are on a journey of discovery.

Leave a Reply

